About Us
Governing Documents
Governing Documents

Undergraduate Senate

About Us

The Undergraduate Senate is the body of elected representatives for Stanford’s undergraduate population. It is comprised of 15 students from all majors and graduating classes.

The Senate meets weekly in Nitery 209 and via Zoom.

The current term of the Undergraduate Senate (2024-25) is the 26th in the history of the ASSU.

Our Mission

The Senate’s mission aligns overall with the ASSU’s three pillars:

‍Advocacy The Senate strives to be representative to University administrators on hot-button issues affecting the undergraduate community.

‍Financial Support Through the Appropriations Committee, the Senate is responsible for approving funding for 600+ student groups.

‍Leadership The Senate aims to provide many leadership opportunities to Stanford undergraduates to develop their skills as advocates, fiduciaries, and stakeholders.

Our Priorities

The Senate has a number of advocacy areas in any given year. This term, our committees focus on the following topics: Academic Affairs, Accessibility, Administration and Rules, Appropriations, Communications, Mental Health, Sexual Violence Prevention, and Student Life.

Helpful Links

Meet the Senators!

Ivy Chen
ASSU Undergraduate Senate Co-Chair
Gordon Allen
Lizbeth Hernandez Rios
David Sengthay
Appropriations Chair
Ethan Alfonso
Viviana Chuquijajas
Jared Hammerstrom
Carmen Kang
Mandla Msipa
Alex Acra
Celeste Vargas
Jadon Urogdy
Yoanna Hoskins
Noah Maltzman
María Fernanda León

Previous Senates

Undergraduate Senate